Math 102 - Section 001 - Fall 2009

Course Schedule

This is a schedule for what I plan to cover in class each day (which is subject to change due to hurricanes, some topics taking shorter or longer than expected, etc.). 

Homeworks are due at 3pm each Friday starting September 6, except for homeworks 4 and 11, which will be somewhat shorter than the rest and due on Wednesday, September 23 and Wednesday, November 11, since they cover material that may appear on the in-class exams on Friday, September 25 and Friday, November 13.

Mon, August 24
5.1-5.4
Introduction, Review
Wed, August 26
5.5
Substitution
Fri, August 28
7.1
Integration by Parts
Mon, August 31
7.2
Trigonometric Integrals
Wed, September 2
7.2-7.3
Trigonometric Integrals/Substitution
Fri, September 4
7.3
Trigonometric Substitution (Homework 1 due, add deadline)
Mon, September 7
no class
Labor Day
Wed, September 9
7.4
Partial Fractions
Fri, September 11
7.4
Partial Fractions (Homework 2 due)
Mon, September 14
7.4
Partial Fractions
Wed, September 16
7.8
Improper Integrals
Fri, September 18
7.8
Improper Integrals (Homework 3 due)
Mon, September 21
6.2
Applications of Integration
Wed, September 23
7.5
Review (Homework 4 due)
Fri, September 25
1st Midterm Exam
In-class Midterm Exam
Mon, September 28
11.1
Sequences
Wed, September 30
11.1
Sequences
Fri, October 2
11.2
Series (Homework 5 due)
Mon, October 5
11.2
Series
Wed, October 7
11.3
Integral Test
Fri, October 9
11.3
Integral Test (Homework 6 due, Registrar drop deadline)
Mon, October 12 no class
Midterm Recess
Wed, October 14
11.4
Comparison Test
Fri, October 16
4.4 Review of L'Hospital's Rule, Growth Rates (Homework 7 due)
Mon, October 19
11.4 Limit Comparison Test
Wed, October 21
11.5
Alternating Series
Fri, October 23
11.6
Ratio Test (Homework 8 due)
Mon, October 26
11.7
Review of Convergence
Wed, October 28
11.8
Power Series
Fri, October 30
11.9
Power Series (Homework 9 due)
Mon, November 2
11.10
Taylor Series
Wed, November 4
11.10
Taylor Series
Fri, November 6
11.11
Taylor approximation (Homework 10 due)
Mon, November 9
11
Review
Wed, November 11
11
Review (Homework 11 due)
Fri, November 13
2nd Midterm Exam
In-class Midterm Exam
Mon, November 16
8.1
Arc Length
Wed, November 18
10.1
Parametric Curves
Fri, November 20
10.2
Parametric Curves (Homework 12 due)
Mon, November 23
10.3
Polar Coordinates
Wed, November 25
Mystery Fun!
Exciting material not appearing on the final exam!
Fri, November 27
no class
Thanksgiving break
Mon, November 30
10.4 Polar Coordinates (Homework 13 due)
Wed, December 2
10
Review
Fri, December 4
7,10,11
Review (Homework 14 due)
Wed, December 9, 7:00-10:00 pm
Final exam
Comprehensive final exam covering all material from the course, including integration, series, and polar coordinates

It is the policy of the mathematics department that no final may be given early to accommodate student travel plans.

Back to Math 102 (section 001) or Evan Bullock's web site.