Math 102 - Section 003 - Fall 2011

Course Schedule

This is a schedule for what I plan to cover in class each day (which is subject to change due to hurricanes, some topics taking shorter or longer than expected, etc.). 

Homeworks are due at 3pm each Friday starting September 6, except for homeworks 4 and 11, which will be somewhat shorter than the rest and due on Wednesday, September 23 and Wednesday, November 11, since they cover material that may appear on the in-class exams on Friday, September 25 and Friday, November 13.

Mon, August 22
5.1-5.5
Introduction, Review
Wed, August 24
7.1
Integration by Parts
Fri, August 26
7.2
Trigonometric Integrals
Mon, August 29
7.2-7.3
Trigonometric Integrals/Trigonometric Substitution
Wed, August 31
7.3
Trigonometric Substitution
Fri, September 2
7.4
Partial Fractions (Written HW 1 due)
Mon, September 5
no class
Labor Day
Wed, September 7
7.4
Partial Fractions
Fri, September 9
7.4
Partial Fractions (Written HW 2 due)
Mon, September 12
7.5
Strategy for Integration
Wed, September 14
7.8
Improper Integrals
Fri, September 16
7.8
Improper Integrals (Written HW 3 due)
Mon, September 19
7
Review
Wed, September 21
1st Midterm Exam In-class Midterm Exam (no WebAssign HW due)
Fri, September 23 11.1
Sequences (written HW 4 due, no WebAssign HW due)
Mon, September 26
11.1
Sequences
Wed, September 28
11.2
Series
Fri, September 30
11.2
Series (Written HW 5 due)
Mon, October 3
11.3
Integral Test
Wed, October 5
11.3
Integral Test
Fri, October 7
11.4
Comparison Test (Written HW 6 due, Registrar drop deadline)
Mon, October 10 no class
Midterm Recess
Wed, October 12
4.4 Review of L'Hospital's Rule
Fri, October 14
4.4/11.4
Growth Rates (Written HW 7 due)
Mon, October 17
11.4 Limit Comparison Test
Wed, October 19
11.5
Alternating Series
Fri, October 21
11.6
Ratio Test (Written HW 8 due)
Mon, October 24
11.7
Review of Convergence
Wed, October 26
11.8
Power Series
Fri, October 28
11.9
Power Series (Written HW 9 due)
Mon, October 31
11.10
Taylor Series
Wed, November 2
11.10
Taylor Series
Fri, November 4
11.11
Taylor approximation (Written HW 10 due)
Mon, November 7
11
Review
Wed, November 9
2nd Midterm Exam In-class Midterm Exam (no WebAssign HW due)
Fri, November 11
8.1
Arc Length (no WebAssign HW due, Written HW 11 due)
Mon, November 14
8.2
Area of a surface of revolution
Wed, November 16
10.1
Parametric Curves
Fri, November 18
10.2
Parametric Curves (Written HW 12 due)
Mon, November 21
10.3
Polar Coordinates
Wed, November 23
Mystery fun!
Exciting material not appearing on the final exam!
Fri, November 25
no class
Thanksgiving break
Mon, November 28
10.4 Polar Coordinates (Written HW 13 due)
Wed, November 30
10.4
Polar Coordinates
Fri, December 2
7,10,11
Review (Written HW 14 due)
Wednesday, December 7 from 7:00-10:00pm
Final exam
Comprehensive final exam covering all material from the course, including integration, series, and polar coordinates

It is the policy of the mathematics department that no final may be given early to accommodate student travel plans.

Back to Math 102 (section 003) or Evan Bullock's web site.


Creative Commons LicenseAll content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License.