Math 102, Section 2: Calculus II, Fall 2005

Instructor: Amanda Knecht

Office: Herman Brown 447

Phone: Ext 2868

E-mail: knecht@math.rice.edu

Time: MWF 9:00 - 9:50 a.m.

Location: Sewall Hall 309

Help Sessions: Thursdays, 7-9PM, Sewall Hall 307

Office Hours: Mondays 1-2 PM, Wednesdays 3-4 PM, Thursdays 1-2 PM, and by appointment

Syllabus (PDF)

Academic Calendar


Daily Schedule and Homework

IMPORTANT NOTICE: This is a tentative schedule. All dates are subject to change and there are some topics we may skip and add. Homework assignments are due at the START of each FRIDAY class. No late homework will be accepted without a valid reason. Please write your name crearly on the homework and staple it. Solutions of the homework will be posted here after the due date.

Week
Date
Topic
Homework

Aug 22 - Aug 26

Sections : 7.2, 7.3, 7.4

 

(#1) Due : Friday, 08/26/05
Section 7.2 : 4, 9, 15, 18, 22, 23, 26
Section 7.3 : 3, 4, 7, 10, 20, 31, 36

Solutions

Aug 29 - Sept 02

Sections : 7.5, 7.5, 7.6

 

(#2)Due : Friday, 09/02/05
Section 7.4 : 2, 4, 11, 14, 24, 43, 60
Section 7.5 : 2, 5, 10, 18, 32, 42

Solutions

 

Sept 05, Monday

Labor Day. No Class


Sept 07 - Sept 09

Sections : 7.7, 7.7

 

(#3) Due : Friday, 09/09/05
Section 7.6 : 2, 4, 5, 8, 12, 18, 22, 29, 42, 51

Solutions

Sept 12 - Sept 16

Sections : 7.8, 7.8, 9.1

 

(#4) Due : Friday, 09/16/05
Section 7.7 : 2, 4, 5, 18, 19, 24, 36, 45
Section 7.8 : 9, 11, 17, 20, 32, 35, 47, 52
(there is a typo in 7.7.36, the power of secant should be 2n-1 not 2n-2)

Solutions

Sept 19 - Sept 23

Sections : 9.2, 9.3

 

 


Sept 26 - Sept 30

Exam I: Friday, 09/30/05 (solutions)
Sections : 9.3, 9.4

 

(#5)Due: Friday, 09/30/05

Chapter 7 Review (pg 542): 3, 7, 8, 10, 29, 32, 47, 117
Section 9.1 : 3, 12, 20, 22, 27, 31
Section 9.2 : 2(b), 7, 9, 13, 21, 31, 41, 47

Solutions

Oct 03 - Oct 07

Sections : 9.4, 10.2, 10.2

 

(#6) Due : Friday, 10/07/05

Section 9.3 : 3, 7, 22, 25, 31, 33, 38, 40
Section 9.4 : 4, 7, 14, 15, 20, 25, 26

Solutions

Unit Circle

 

Oct 10, Monday

No class due to Midterm Recess

 

 

 

Oct 12 - Oct 14

Sections : 10.2, 10.3

 

(#7) Due : Friday, 10/14/05
Section 10.2 : 4, 6, 9, 12, 13, 15, 18, 34, 39, 40, 47, 60

Solutions

Oct 17 - Oct 21

Sections : 10.3, 10.3, 10.3

 

(#8) Due : Friday, 10/21/05
Section 10.2: 1, 14, 24, 37, 55
Section 10.3 : 2, 8, 10, 12, 16, 17, 20, 46

Solutions

10 

Oct 24 - Oct 28

Sections : 10.4, 10.4, 10.4

 

(#9) Due : Friday, 10/29/04
Section 10.3: 38, 39, 42, 52, 53, 55, 64, 72
Section 10.4: 1, 4, 5, 7

Solutions

11 

Oct 31 - Nov 04

Sections : 10.5, 10.5, Review

 

(#10) Due : Friday, 11/04/05

Capter 9 Review (pg 681) 1, 5, 28, 31, 32, 35, 39, 41, 45, 46
Section 9.1: 5, 17, 21, 25, 29, 33

Solutions

12 

Nov 07 - Nov 11

Exam II: Monday, 11/07/05(solutions)
(covers 9.1, 9.2, 9.3, 9.4, 10.2, 10.3)


Sections : 10.5, 10.6

Substitute Lecturer Nov 11

 

(#11) Due : Friday, 11/11/05

Section 10.4: 10, 11, 13, 19, 21, 29, 33, 37, 42
Section 10.5 : 2, 7, 11, 15, 31, 36

Solutions

13 

Nov 14 - Nov 18

Sections : 10.6, 10.6, 10.7

Substitute Lecturer Nov 14, 16

 

(#12) Due : Friday, 11/18/05
Section 10.6: 3, 6, 13, 14, 15, 16, 28, 29, 32


Solutions

14 

Nov 21 - Nov 23

Sections : 10.7, 10.7

 

(#13) Due : Wednesday, 11/23/05
Section 10.7 : 3, 9, 14, 21, 25, 27, 28, 34, 56

Solutions

 

Nov 25, Friday

No class due to Thanksgiving Holiday.


15 

Nov 28 - Dec 02

Sections : Review All of Calc II

 

 

(#14) Due : Friday, 12/02/05
Chapter 10 Review (pg 769):
1, 2, 4, 7, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 25, 28, 29, 30, 41

Also review Taylor Series on your own

Solutions

 

***

Final Exam Information

Room: Herzstein Hall AMP

Time: Wednesday Dec 14, 9am- Noon