Single Variable Calculus II

Math102 Section 002 Fall 2009

Time and Place: MWF 09:00am - 09:50am, HB453
Instructor: Zhiyuan Li
Office and Hours: HB447, MWF 12:00am-1:00pm (or by appointment)
Email: zhiyuan.li@rice.edu
  • Course Details
  • Homework Assignments
  • Schedule of Lectures

  • Course Description

    Continuation of MATH 101. Includes further techniques of integration, as well as infinite sequences and series, tests for convergence, power series, radius of convergence, polar coordinates, parametric equations, and arc length.

    Textbook:

    Calculus: Early Transcendentals , 6th edition, by James Stewart

    Help Session: TTR 07:00pm-09:00pm SS106

    Teaching Assistant: Ryan Scott (ryan), Zheng Gan (zg2) , Darren Ong, Arunima Ray

    Email addresses are after the names. The domain is @rice.edu

    Grades

    Your grade in the class will be based on the following weights:

    Homework
    25%
    Midterm 1: Friday, September 25
    20%
    Midterm 2: Friday, November 13
    20%
    Final Exam
    35%

    Homework

    Homeworks will be put up on Course Page and are due on
    Fridays by 3pm. You must turn in your assignment to the Math 102 Section002 inbox on the 2nd floor of Herman Brown (next to HB220). Late homework will not be accepted. However, your lowest homework grade will be dropped before computing your homework average.

    Homework solutions should be legible, and each problem should be worked out in detail with the final answer clearly indicated. Please staple your homework and write your name and the assignment on the front page. You are welcome to work together with other students on your homeworks, but your write-up must be your own, and you should write on your homework the names of any other students you worked with.

    Exams

    There will be two in-class midterm exams and one comprehensive final exam. All exams are closed-book and closed notes and are subject to the Rice University Honor Code. You will not be allowed to use a calculator on the exams.

    The date of the final exam is not yet available; please do not make your travel arrangements until the final exam date is announced - requests to reschedule the final exam are usually denied. Thanks for your understanding.

    Disability Support

    It is the policy of Rice University that any student with a disability receive fair and equal treatment in this course. If you have a documented disability that requires academic adjustments or accommodations, please speak with me during the first week of class (preferably, as soon as possible). All discussions will remain confidential. Students with disabilities will also need to contact Disability Support Services in the Ley Student Center.

    Homework Assignments

    Section
    Problems
    Homework Assignment
    Due Date

     

     

    5.5

    3,7,19,35,36,54,60

     

     

    7.1

    8,10,20,31,34,38,44,50

    Homework #1

    9/04

    7.2

    2,4,6,20,67,68

     

     

    7.2

    17,18,19,22,29,39

     

     

    7.3

    7,9,11,13,17,19

    Homework #2

    9/11

     

     

    7.4

    In Paper

     

     

    7.4

    2,4,8,9,14,26

    Homework #3

    9/18

    7.4

    24,25,40,42,48,50

     

     

    7.8

    1(a),5,7,11,18,22

     

     

    7.8

    50,51,30,32,36,59

    Homework #4

    9/28

    11.1

    18,20,22,23,25,27,28,32,35,45

     

     

    11.1

    61,63,64,66,67

    Homework #5

    10/09

    11.2

    14,16,20,21,24,31,33,36,50,51

     

     

    11.3

    15,19,24,27,34,36

    Homework #6

    10/16

    11.4

    4,9,13,17,19

     

     

    11.4

    24,25,30,31,32,36

    Homework #7

    10/23

    11.5

    6,7,12,15,17,23

     

     

    11.6

    3,5,9,12,15,28

     

     

    11.6

    21,23,24

    Homework #8

    10/30

    11.8

    5,13,16,26,29

     

     

    11.9

    5,8,15,16,24,25

    Homework #9

    11/06

    11.10

    7,14,25,32,33,36,49,56,63

     

     

    Homework #10

    11/13

    8.1 & 10.1

    8.1:8,11, 10.1: 12,14,18,20

     

     

    10.2

    10,14,16,20,41

    Homework #11

    11/29

    10.3

    10,18,25,30,34,59,61,66

     

     

    10.4

    46,47

    Homework #12

    12/04


    Class Schedule

    This schedule is tentative and might change as the class progresses.

    Mon, August 24
    5.1-5.4
    Introduction, Review
    Wed, August 26
    5.5
    Substitution
    Fri, August 28
    7.1
    Integration by Parts
    Mon, August 31
    7.1-7.2
    Trigonometric Integrals
    Wed, September 2
    7.2-7.3
    Trigonometric Integrals/Substitution
    Fri, September 4
    7.3
    Trigonometric Substitution
    Mon, September 7
    no class
    Labor Day
    Wed, September 9
    7.4
    Partial Fractions
    Fri, September 11
    7.4
    Partial Fractions
    Mon, September 14
    7.4
    Partial Fractions
    Wed, September 16
    7.8
    Improper Integrals
    Fri, September 18
    7.8
    Improper Integrals
    Mon, September 21
    6.2
    Applications of Integration
    Wed, September 23
    7.5
    Review
    Fri, September 25
    1st Midterm Exam
    In-class Midterm Exam
    Mon, September 28
    11.1
    Sequences
    Wed, September 30
    11.1
    Sequences
    Fri, October 2
    11.2
    Series
    Mon, October 5
    11.2
    Series
    Wed, October 7
    11.3
    Integral Test
    Fri, October 9
    11.3
    Integral Test (Registrar drop deadline)
    Mon, October 12 no class
    Midterm Recess
    Wed, October 14
    11.4
    Comparison Test
    Fri, October 16
    4.4 Review of L'Hospital's Rule, Growth Rates of Functions
    Mon, October 19
    11.4 Limit Comparison Test
    Wed, October 21
    11.5
    Alternating Series
    Fri, October 23
    11.6
    Ratio Test
    Mon, October 26
    11.7
    Review of Convergence
    Wed, October 28
    11.8
    Power Series
    Fri, October 30
    11.9
    Power Series
    Mon, November 2
    11.10
    Taylor Series
    Wed, November 4
    11.10
    Taylor Series
    Fri, November 6
    11.11
    Taylor approximation
    Mon, November 9
    11
    Review
    Wed, November 11
    11
    Review
    Fri, November 13
    2nd Midterm Exam
    In-class Midterm Exam
    Mon, November 16
    8.1
    Arc Length
    Wed, November 18
    10.1
    Parametric Curves
    Fri, November 20
    10.2
    Parametric Curves
    Mon, November 23
    10.3
    Polar Coordinates
    Wed, November 25
    Mystery Fun!
    Exciting material not appearing on the final exam!
    Fri, November 27
    no class
    Thanksgiving break
    Mon, November 30
    10.4 Polar Coordinates
    Wed, December 2
    10
    Review
    Fri, December 4
    7,10,11
    Review

    Course Details | Schedule | Top | Home